Bye-bye Cows…

Today my friend came to pick up three peahens and two cows. The peahens were sold to a lady who has a peacock that just showed up one day and refused to leave. She doesn’t have the heart to kick him out and also doesn’t want him to be lonely, so she bought him three girlfriends. So generous! Catching them went a lot more smoothly than I thought it would, we just sort of directed them away from the rest of the flock to a room in the chicken barn place, then picked them up and put them in a big dog crate. One of them was very concerned about being picked up, she shot a bunch of feathers in all directions like a squid firing ink. POOF. But then everything was fine. Seeya, peahens!

007The two cows are the holsteins pictured here. They’re on their way to Vancouver for… you know. Where meat comes from. We tried to get the jersey in the trailer too, since it was decided that he IS big enough after all, but it was getting dark and I’m sure it’s hard enough to drive a trailer full of cow when it’s NOT dark and the highway is getting frosty. It’s a little bit sad because it’s the first time animals I actually LIKE are going off to slaughter. But all cows are likable (in my very limited experience!) so I guess I’ll get used to it.  Sangria isn’t going anywhere, at least. And don’t tell anyone, in case it doesn’t happen… but someone is on the lookout for a highland cow for me! FOR ME! A HIGHLAND COW! I’ll be the luckiest girl in the world if I get a fluffy shaggy cow of my OWN.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, I was going through a seed catalogue for about two hours and found 63 things I want to grow. I hope I can do that too. We’ve got the space, but have I got the SKILLS??

Leave a Reply

